Week 15

Transfers!                                                                                                                            Well, it’s the end of another transfer, and I have no idea where I’m going. (or if I’m going, or anything) Yep, transfer calls haven’t come yet.

I do know this for sure–Garrard chourou is a trainer again, and I’m not a *greenbean
anymore, so we won’t be doryou-s(companions) anymore.

But as for the rest, I guess you all will find out next week! (ooh, suspense!)

Well, it’s been a good week, with lots of interesting happenings!

China kyoudai
We visited China kyoudai twice, and he’s doing really well. He’s still working towards April fool’s day as his baptismal date, but he’ll definitely be ready before then.

This week he didn’t come to church, but went to visit his mother and celebrate her…88th birthday!  He claims she’s genki-er(livelier) than he is.

We found out she lives in our area, so we’re going to ask if we can visit some time.

As for the rest of his family, we haven’t had a chance to drop off cookies yet, but we want to soon, so please pray that they’ll be more accepting!

Wednesday we had a great miracle!
So we’ve been trying to find YSA (Young Single Adult) age Japanese men (we apparently have too many female YSA recent converts, so we’re trying to find husbands for them), but we haven’t really found any.

BUT Wednesday’s miracle isn’t really related to that all that much.

We were coming back from a meal appointment, and we had some extra time, so we found a big danchi (apartment complex) and started knocking on doors.

We ring the bell on this one door, and a young-ish girl steps out. We ask ‘hey, we’re Christian missionaries, can we sing?’ and she just mutely nods, so we start singing, and then her brother steps out.

They both listen to our song, and the brother is way interested. He’s 18 years old, and he tells us he likes volunteer-type stuff, and he likes talking about ‘things of the heart’ and thinks service is really important.

He was super interested in what we do as senkyoushi(missionaries), and I think if he just accepts the gospel he would be a great missionary!

We’re going to meet him again and bring up baptism, so please pray that it’ll go well!

We spent a total of two nights over at the other elders’ apartment, and it was super fun! Our plans keep taking us to that area, so we get to sleep over all the time now.

 And before I forget, I got to play the cello this week!
A member in the Gushikawa military branch (there are a total of three units here, one Japanese) lent me a cello, and then arranged for me to play last Sunday!

I got the cello the week before, but I didn’t get permission* to play it until Friday, so it was kind of taihen(hectic) to polish things up before Sunday (and it had to be this Sunday, in case I’m transferring).

BUT I managed to come up with a good arrangement of ‘Because I have been given much’, and it went great!

*missionaries aren’t allowed to play musical instruments without permission from their Mission President.

Anyway, I think that’s all I have to report on.

I love you all!!! Have a great week!
-Elder Houseknecht

Comment

